Contact to us

Creekvibes… best designed magazine in Lagos.

Mobile or watsapp: 09166316944, PR, Damage Control, News Circulation

Meet President Buhari’s 4 new service chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday, January 26, finally heeded the advice of Nigerians by allowing the current service chiefs to proceed on retirement. A presidential spokesperson, Femi Adesina disclosed in a statement that Buhari also appointed new service chiefs to replace the outgoing ones. Below is a list of the new military commanders and their portfolios. 1. Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff Major-General Leo Irabor has been appointed to take over from General Abayomi Olonisakin as the new chief of defence staff.

1 .Irabor is regarded as a gallant military commander.

UGC Irabor who is from Agbor in Delta state is one of the finest military commanders in the Nigerian Army. He once headed the Operation Lafiya Dole Theatre Command, a counter-insurgency operation in the northeast. Service Chiefs must go – Nigerians to Buhari

The general perfumed so well that after he was redeployed from the command, the then governor of Borno state, Kashim Shettima, said the Boko Haram insurgency regained momentum because troops felt demoralised by his sudden redeployment.

2. Major-General I Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff Attahiru Ibrahim, replaces the former chief of army staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai. Before his appointment, General Attahiru was the General Officer Commanding (GOC) 82 Division, Nigerian Army. He was appointed as the theatre commander of the Lafiya Dole operation in May 2017.

General Attahiru once led the Boko Haram war in the northeast. Photo: The Nation Source: UGC However, some months after his appointment, Attahiru was removed from his position. Though no reason was given for his sudden removal, reports speculated that his removal was linked to the seeming inefficiency of his command in tackling the Boko Haram insurgency.

3. Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff Gambo takes over from the former chief of naval staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas. Gambo hails from Nasarawa local government area of Kano state. He enlisted into the Nigerian Navy in 1984 as a member of Regular Course 36 and was commissioned sub-lieutenant in 1988.

Rear Admiral Gambo is an experienced naval commander UGC He is an underwater warfare specialist with a sub-specialisation in intelligence.

The senior officer has attended several military courses which include, Sub-Technical course and Officers Long course both at NNS QUORRA. He also attended Junior Division 48/89 and Senior Course 26 both at AFCSC Jaji.

4. Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff Air-Vice Marshal Amao replaces the chief of air staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar. He is from Osun state and enlisted into the Nigerian Air Force in 1984 as a member of 35 NDA Regular Course and was commissioned as pilot officer in 1986.

The New Nig AirForce Chief, Air Vice Marshall Isiaka Oladayo Amao has attended several military courses. Photo: NTA Source: UGC He is one of the senior officers who has distinguished himself as he rose in the ranks of the Nigerian Air Force. He is a fighter pilot and has participated in various operations. The senior officer has attended several military courses including: Junior Division Course at Armed Forces Command Staff College (AFCSC) Jaji from Jun-Dec 1986, Senior Division Course at Defence Services Staff College India from 2002 – 2003.

Others are Defence Course at National Defence University China from 2012 – 2013, Aircraft Accident Investigation in Civil Airline at NCAT Zaria and Aircraft Accident Investigation Course at Karachi, Pakistan among others. He is respected among his peers. Meanwhile, following his resignation as Nigeria’s Chief of Army Staff, Major-General Tukur Buratai now holds the title of the country’s longest-serving Chief of Army Staff. The Cable Index revealed that the Borno-born General spent a total of 66 months as the nation’s top army chief. He is followed closely by Late General Sani Abacha who went on to be Nigeria’s military president, with 60 months.
Source: The Punch/Legit


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email